The Cultural Advocacy Coalition of Oregon announces the election of officers and new board members for 2016. The Coalition is a respected voice in the Capitol on behalf of arts, heritage and the humanities and its leadership represents a diverse mix of cultural organizations and arts and culture advocates statewide.

“The Coalition is dedicated to building a network of cultural champions to support creative work, advance arts learning, preserve our history and expand investment in Oregon’s cultural life to grow the cultural economy and build stronger connections within healthier communities,” Executive Director Christine Drazan said. “This year’s board represents an exceptional slate of leaders who are committed to work with policymakers to engage arts, heritage and the humanities in practical ways to help address the challenges we face us as a statewide community.”

  • Chris Coleman, Artistic Director of Portland Center Stage, has been re-elected President.
  • Steve Bass, President of Oregon Public Broadcasting was elected Vice President.
  • Tina Rinaldi, Managing Director of the University of Oregon Arts & Administration Program and the Center for Community Arts & Cultural Policy, was elected Secretary.
  • John Tess, President of Heritage Consulting Group was elected Treasurer.

New members to the Board of Directors include:

  • Dr. Nancy Golden, former Chief Education Officer for Oregon, currently Professor of Practice at the University of Oregon
  • Ginger Savage, Executive Director of Crossroads Carnegie Art Center in Baker City
  • Dan Thorndike, General Counsel for Medford Fabrication in Medford.

Board members re-elected for additional three-year terms include Peter Bilotta, Executive Director of Chamber Music Northwest; Stan Penkin founder of ArtPAC; Scott Freck, Executive Director of the Eugene Symphony and JS May, Chief Advancement Officer at the Portland Art Museum.

The Cultural Advocacy Coalition is a nonpartisan 501(c)4, formed in 1998 to lobby the legislature for arts and culture. The Coalition’s membership includes individuals, businesses and nonprofit cultural organizations throughout the state.