The Cultural Advocacy Coalition, a non-partisan advocacy group specifically formed to lobby in Salem on behalf of arts, heritage and the humanities announced today the endorsement of 15 candidates for the Oregon Legislature:

Oregon State Senate

District 6, Lee Beyer, Democrat
District 16, Betsy Johnson, Democrat
District 17, Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, MD, Democrat
District 23, Michael Dembrow, Democrat
District 26, Chuck Thomsen, Republican

Oregon State House:

District 5, Peter Buckley, Democrat
District 26, Eric Squires, Democrat
District 28, Jeff Barker, Democrat
District 32, Deborah Boone, Democrat
District 33, Mitch Greenlick, Democrat
District 35, Margaret Doherty, Democrat
District 42, Rob Nosse, Democrat
District 48, Michael Reardon, Democrat
District 54, Knute Buehler, MD, Republican
District 59, John Huffman, Republican

“These candidates understand the value of arts and culture, in the larger economic landscape and within the unique the communities they serve. We are fortunate to have such a strong contingent of arts and culture supporters running for the Oregon Legislature,” said Coalition President, Chris Coleman.

All new candidates running for the legislature did not complete the Coalition’s endorsement questionnaire and not all incumbents requested an endorsement based on their voting record. The endorsement list reflects those who went through this process or are incumbent legislators with a history of championing Oregon’s culture.